FEEM’s researchers (Modelling the Energy Transition – MET Program), led by Professor Sergio Vergalli, are glad to announce the second edition of the workshop titled Research Dialogues on the complexity of the energy transition”. The first edition was previously held in December 2021.

The 2nd edition of the workshop, organized in hybrid mode, will take place on 6th and 7h of December 2023 at the Rectorate of the University of Brescia (UNIBS), and will focus on innovative methodological tools in the field of the energy transition. Researchers will present new modelling approaches and applications, while also engaging in discussions about further extensions in this area of study. The event will be structured into two distinct sessions. On day 1, we will have a session dedicated to micro modelling, uncertainty and applications, Day 2 will feature a session on macro modelling and applications. Each session will consist of presentations of research papers, including those at an early stage, along with dedicated time for research debate. Additionally, there will be a special session for PhD students to present their work.

On a two-day venue, the workshop will host leading international economics, energy and environmental scholars and researchers. On Wedsneday, 6th December at 4:00 p.m Prof. Sergio Vergalli will chair the “Round Table: Free thoughts on the future”. For the Round Table registration, please visit the Youtube Channel at this link.



For more information on the workshop’s schedule and sessions, please download the agenda attached below.

The workshop is organized in collaboration with Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei and the sponsorship of University of Brescia, the Italian Association of Environmental and Resource Economists (IAERE) and the European Association of  Environmental Resource Economists (EAERE).


Davide Bazzana (Università degli studi di Brescia, FEEM), Simone Borghesi (Università di Siena), Peter Kort (Tilburg University), Veronica Lupi (University of Amsterdam), Irene Monasterolo (EDHEC Business School), Claudia Nunes (University of Lisbon), Ruslana Palatnik (University of Haifa), Lilit Popoyan (Università degli Studi di Napoli Parthenope) Jacco Thijssen (University of York), Sergio Vergalli (Università degli studi di Brescia, FEEM).



Davide Bazzana (Università degli studi di Brescia, FEEM), Emanuele Ciola (Università degli studi di Brescia, FEEM), Nicola Comincioli (Università degli studi di Brescia, FEEM), Sergio Vergalli (Università degli studi di Brescia, FEEM).