September 16 2015

FEEM among top scientists and business leaders backing Paris clean energy plan

27 world-leading scientists, executives, academics and politicians have called on nations to adopt the Global Apollo Program (GAP) by the time of the UN Climate Change Conference in Paris in December.

A letter published today, signed by Carlo Carraro (ICCG Director), Sabina Ratti (FEEM Executive Director), David Attenborough, Brian Cox, Paul Polman, Nilesh Jadhav and other respected figures argues that ‘A sensible approach to tackling climate change will not only pay for itself but provide economic benefits to the nations of the world”.

The GAP plan for internationally coordinated RD&D (research, development and demonstration) into renewable energy technology was proposed in June by a group of top scientists, economists and energy experts including Nicholas Stern, Gus O’Donnell, Richard Layard, David King, Martin Rees, Adair Turner and John Browne.

The aspiration of the Program is to make renewable energy cheaper than fossil fuels by increasing government spending on research to at least $15bn a year globally for the next 10 years. Watch this video to learn more about GAP.

The letter comes at the same time as a video from Sir David Attenborough urges support for the Program. You can watch the video here.

The letter is signed by:

  • Sir David Attenborough
  • Professor Brian Cox
  • Paul Polman, CEO, Unilever
  • Professor Jeffery Sachs, Director, Earth Institute, Columbia University
  • Arunabha Ghosh, CEO, Council on Energy Environment and Water
  • Ed Davey, Former UK Energy Secretary
  • Bill Hare, Founder and CEO, Climate Analytics
  • Nilesh Y. Jadhav, Program Director, Energy Research Institute @NTU, Singapore
  • Niall Dunne, Chief Sustainability Officer, BT
  • Carlo Carraro, Director, International Center for Climate Governance
  • Professor Sir Brian Hoskins, Chair, Grantham Institute
  • Mark Kenber, CEO, The Climate Group
  • Ben Goldsmith, Founder, Menhaden Capital
  • Sabina Ratti, Executive Director, FEEM – Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei
  • Lord Browne, Chairman L1 Energy
  • Zac Goldsmith MP
  • Professor Martin Siegert, Co-Director Grantham Institute
  • Professor Joanna Haigh CBE, Co-Director, Grantham Institute and Vice President of Royal Meteorological Society
  • Peter Bakker, President, World Business Council for Sustainable Development
  • Dr Fatima Denton, African Climate Policy Centre
  • Denys Shortt, CEO, DCS Group
  • Lord Turner, Former Chairman, Financial Services Authority
  • Lord O’Donnell, Former Cabinet Secretary
  • Lord Layard, London School of Economics
  • Lord Nicholas Stern, Author, Stern Review on Climate Change
  • Professor John Shepherd CBE FRS
  • Lord Martin Rees, Astronomer Royal

Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei

FEEM Newsletter & Update

Subscribe to stay connected.

Your personal data will be processed by Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei. – data Controller – with the aim of emailing the FEEM newsletter & Update. The use of Your email address is necessary for the implementation of the newsletter service. You are invited to read the Privacy Policy in order to obtain additional information about the protection of Your rights.

This Website uses technical cookies and cookie analytics, as well as “third party” profiling cookies.
If you close this banner or you decide to continue navigating on this Website, you express consent to the use of cookies. If you need additional information or you wish to express selective choices on the use of cookies, please refer to the   Cookie PolicyI agree