Home   Research   FEEM 20 Anniversary Prize   Regulations and nomination form
Regulations and nomination form

Article 1 - The FEEM 20th Anniversary Prize in Environmental Economics

To celebrate the 20th anniversary of its foundation, Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei will bestow the FEEM 20th Anniversary Prize in Environmental Economics.
The Prize, which carries a monetary reward of € 10,000 (ten thousand euro), will be conferred on a researcher or a group of researchers from anywhere in the world who have most significantly contributed to the development of the field of environmental and resource economics over the 20 year period 1989 to 2009.

Article 2 - The Committees involved 

The following Committees are involved in the grant of the Prize:
the Organizing Committee, which is in charge of the management of the Prize;
the Scientific Committee, which judges the nominations received and chooses the Winner of the Prize.

Article 3 - The Organizing Committee

The Prize is managed by the Organizing Committee, which is appointed by FEEM and chaired by Prof. Carlo Carraro.

The Organizing Committee:

  1. approves any changes to the Regulations;
  2. provides an Official Announcement of the Prize;
  3. promotes the Prize;
  4. collects nominations and transmits nominations to the Scientific Committee;
  5. announces the Winner(s) of the Prize, as chosen by the Scientific Committee. 

Article 4 - The Scientific Committee

A Scientific Committee shall examine each nomination for the Prize. The Scientific Committee is composed of seven members, who are representatives of the International Scientific Community in the field:

  1. the President;
  2. two members appointed by AERE;
  3. two members appointed by EAERE;
  4. two members appointed by FEEM.

The President of the Scientific Committee, will coordinate the assessment process of the Prize.

The Scientific Committee shall write a report on the Prize for the Organizing Committee. This report will state that all the submitted proposals have been duly examined, will put forward the name of the recommended Winner(s) of the Prize, and will outline the reasons for its choice.

Article 5 - Validity of the Scientific Committee meetings

The majority of the members of the Scientific Committee have to be present for their meetings to be considered valid, and the decisions to be adopted are made by the majority of those attending.
Should any members of the Scientific Committee be unable to attend meetings either in person or via the use of telecommunication technologies, they may appoint other members of the Committee in question to represent them.
It is not possible for any member of the Committee to represent more than one absent member.

Article 6 - Terms of Nominations

Nominations for the Prize must be submitted by March 1st, 2010, according to the official announcement requirements which will published on the FEEM website by July 2009. Self-nominations will be taken into consideration.

Article 7 - Prize-giving Ceremony

The Winner(s) will be officially announced in a plenary session of the Fourth World Congress of Environmental and Resource Economists, taking place over the period June 28 to July 2, 2010 in Montreal, Canada.

In the fall of the same year (October-November) the prize-winner(s) will be invited to the FEEM headquarters to deliver a lecture.